[ad_1]
Joe Burrow’s second landing cross of the sport within the Bengals’ wild-card matchup vs. Raiders got here with some assist from his mobility within the pocket—and maybe somewhat from an official’s rogue whistle.
As Burrow scrambled towards the sideline with Cincinnati driving late within the second quarter, he launched the ball simply earlier than stepping out of bounds. Simply earlier than the cross reached Tyler Boyd in the long run zone, a whistle might be heard on the published, which brought about some confusion for NBC’s broadcast workforce of Mike Tirico and Drew Brees.
Rule 7, Part 2(m) of the NFL’s rulebook states that, “When an official sounds his whistle erroneously whereas the ball continues to be in play, the ball turns into useless instantly,” per the NFL Network’s Tom Pelissero. NBC’s on-air guidelines analyst Terry McAulay—a former NFL official—stated throughout the broadcast that the inadvertent whistle ought to have resulted within the down being replayed. The league has declined to touch upon the incident thus far, deferring to McAulay’s breakdown of the play, per Pelissero.
The landing gave Cincinnati a 20–6 lead, although the Raiders did rally to attain simply earlier than halftime to chop the deficit to twenty–13. No matter how the sport performs out, the officiating blunder will certainly draw scrutiny all through the postseason.
Extra NFL Protection:
For extra Cincinnati Bengals protection, go to All Bengals.
[ad_2]
Source link